Former Yankees Star Hideki Matsui Headed to Cooperstown for Hall of Fame Classic, May 24

- New Roster of Recently Retired Stars to Join Hall of Famers Alomar, Dawson, Fingers, Murray, Niekro and Smith in Memorial Day Weekend Legends Game -

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – For every big leaguer, a trip to Cooperstown is the ultimate dream.
For former Yankees star Hideki Matsui, Cooperstown becomes a reality this Memorial Day Weekend when he suits up for the Hall of Fame Classic at the home of baseball. Matsui, who drove in at least 100 runs in four of his seven seasons with the Yankees and won the 2009 World Series Most Valuable Player Award, will serve as the Yankees representative as one of 30 former major league players who will participate in this 75th Anniversary event for the Hall of Fame and Museum on Saturday, May 24.

The 2014 Hall of Fame Classic, presented by Ford Motor Company, will be played Saturday, May 24 at Cooperstown’s historic Doubleday Field. Hall of Fame Members Roberto Alomar, Andre Dawson, Rollie Fingers, Eddie Murray, Phil Niekro and Ozzie Smith will serve as managers and coaches for the sixth annual Classic, with a roster of recently retired players representing the 30 Major League Baseball teams highlighting a new format change to this popular spring family event.

The enhanced Classic format, fueled by assistance from Major League Baseball in conjunction with the Museum’s 75th anniversary season, will bring an infusion of new faces to the legends exhibition game, which will spotlight the return of the popular Home Run Derby at 1 p.m. First pitch of the Classic is slated for 2:05 p.m. The Cooperstown Game Day Parade will showcase appearances by Hall of Fame Members and major league players on Main Street starting at 12 noon.

Game rosters are expected to feature a representation from each of the 30 major league teams. To date, the lineup for the 2014 Hall of Fame Classic features players who represent two Most Valuable Player Awards, three World Series MVPs, two All-Star Game MVPs, a combined 56 All-Star Game selections, 18 Gold Glove Awards, and a member of the 600 Home Run Club. Players scheduled to participate in the Classic as of April 2 include:

Vinny Castilla (Rockies) Scott Hatteberg (A’s) Aaron Rowand (White Sox)
Brady Clark (Brewers) Livan Hernandez (Nationals) Kirk Rueter (Giants)
Jeff Conine (Marlins) Todd Jones (Tigers) Reggie Sanders (Reds)
Adam Everett (Astros) Brad Lidge (Phillies) Mike Sweeney (Royals)
David Eckstein (Angels) Hideki Matsui (Yankees) Jim Thome (Indians)
Steve Garvey (Dodgers) Carl Pavano (Twins) Dan Wheeler (Rays)
Alex Gonzalez (Blue Jays) Kerry Robinson (Cardinals) Jack Wilson (Pirates)
Luis Gonzalez (D’Backs) Ivan Rodriguez (Rangers)

Roster additions will be announced throughout the spring.